06 Centennial Icon

1906 Earthquake Centennial Alliance

Activities & Events

Symphony No. 1, "The Earthquake"

Contra Costa Wind Symphony

We commemorate the centennial of the 1906 Earthquake and the 25th anniversary of the Contra Costa Wind Symphony by performing a commissioned symphony by Cincinnati Pops composer/arranger Steven Reineke. This major work includes four movements that dramatize events related to the 1906 earthquake:
I. "City of Gold"
II. "Nocturne"
III. "And the Earth Trembled”
IV. "New Day Rising”

More information »


April 18, 2006, at 8:00 p.m
(Tickets on sale March 1, 2006)


Hoffman Theater
Dean Lesher Regional Center for the Arts
1601 Civic Drive
Walnut Creek, CA 94596


This symphonic work commemorates the 1906 earthquake and its aftermath.


General public. Order tickets by phone at (925) 943-7469

Volunteer Opportunities

Assistance in the Dissemination of promotional material


Duane Carroll, (925) 944-5392

« Alliance Member Events Index